Welcome to the 2nd Canada – UK Joint Symposium on Inorganic Chemistry!

Welcome to the 2nd Canada – UK Joint Symposium on Inorganic Chemistry!

We are delighted to be hosting this conference at the Quebec City and would like to extend a warm welcome to all our speakers, sponsors and conference delegates. This is the second iteration of this meeting, the first one in Canada, after a first event in St-Andrews in 2022. We hope this edition will continue to strengthen the bonds and friendship between UK and Canadian chemists. We are excited to showcase the impact that inorganic chemistry has on diverse fields such as supramolecular chemistry to materials development to main group chemistry and catalysis to bioinorganic chemistry to energy and environmental science.

We very much hope you enjoy your time here.

Please don’t hesitate to ask us for help or information during the conference.

Best wishes,

Frédéric, Rebecca, Jaclyn and Barry


Staying in the restored former Augustine cloister is a great way to recharge your batteries! Two room types are available. Relaxation, comfort and simplicity are the order of the day.

Book your stay


You can travel to Quebec City through the International Airport Jean Lesage.

YQB Website

Visit Quebec City

Québec City’s history, friendly vibe, and myriad attractions throughout the year make it a stand‑out travel destination. Every season brings its own special activities and stunning sights.



You can register through the Fourwaves Platform. It will be available on May 1, 2024.


Invited Speakers

Main group

United Kingdom

Mike HillUniversity of Bath
Deborah Kays
Deborah KaysUniversity of Nottingham
Robert Mulvey
Robert MulveyUniversity of Strathclyde


Saurabh Chitnis
Saurabh ChitnisDalhousie
Lucia Lee
Lucia LeeQueens
Marc-André Courtemanche
Marc-André CourtemancheDow Chemicals
Marc-André LégaréMcGill

Synthesis and Catalysis

United Kingdom

Andrew Weller
Andrew WellerUniversity of York
Ruth Webster
Ruth WebsterUniversity of Cambridge
Stephen Thomas
Stephen ThomasUniversity of Edinburgh
Gosia Swadźba-Kwaśny
Gosia Swadźba-KwaśnyUniversity of Belfast


Laurel SchaferUBC
Laura Turculet
Laura TurculetDalhousie
Sam Johnson
Sam Johnson University of Windsor

Functional Materials / Supramolecular

United Kingdom

Anna Slater
Anna SlaterUniversity of Liverpool
Tomislav Friscik
Tomislav FriscikUniversity of Birmingham
Eli Zysman-Colman
Eli Zysman-ColmanUniversity of St Andrews


Muralee Murugesu
Muralee Murugesu University of Ottawa
Daniel Leznoff
Daniel LeznoffSimon Fraser University
Louise Dawe
Louise Dawe Laurier University
Kate Marczenko
Kate MarczenkoCarleton University

Energy / Environmental

United Kingdom

Gareth Owen
Gareth OwenUniversity of South Wales
Floriana Tuna
Floriana TunaUniversity of Manchester
Magdalena Titirici
Magdalena TitiriciImperial college London
Niel Robertson
Niel RobertsonUniversity of Edinburgh


Mita Dasog
Mita DasogDalhousie
Marek Majewski
Marek Majewski Concordia University
Eva Nichols University of British Columbia


United Kingdom

Rama Suntharalingam
Rama SuntharalingamUniversity of Leicester
Amanda Jarvis
Amanda JarvisUniversity of Edinburgh
Paul Walton
Paul WaltonUniversity of York


Tim Storr
Tim StorrSimon Fraser University
Annie Castonguay
Annie CastonguayInstitut national de recherche scientifique
Caterina Ramogida
Caterina RamogidaSimon Fraser University
Nick VukoticUniversity of Windsor


We want to thank our sponsors. Their support is what allows us to come together in this great event.

Learn more

Organizing Committee Members

Frédéric-Georges Fontaine
Frédéric-Georges FontaineFull Professor
Université Laval
Rebecca Melen
Rebecca MelenFull Professor
Cardiff University
Jaclyn Brusso
Jaclyn BrussoFull Professor
University of Ottawa
Barry Blight
Barry BlightAssociate Professor
University of New Brunswick